

The 9th ASEAN Seaport Interdiction Task Force Meeting (9th ASITF)



Malaysia, through the National Anti-Drugs Agency (NADA), hosted the 9th ASEAN Seaport Interdiction Task Force (ASITF) meeting in Penang from 19 to 22 November 2024. The meeting involved ten ASEAN countries, the ASEAN Secretariat, and a dialogue partner, the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC).





The 9th ASITF meeting aimed to strengthen cooperation among ASEAN countries through the sharing of information on drug trafficking and substance issues, as well as the sharing of expertise among ASEAN member states. The meeting also discussed initiatives and cooperation among law enforcement agencies regarding drug trafficking through international ports and waterways .Additionally, the meeting aimed to gather and share data, information, and statistics on the drug situation in ASEAN countries. This includes coordinating investigation methods and cross-border operations, as well as multi-agency cooperation in sharing information on the latest modus operandi of transnational drug trafficking syndicates.





The Malaysian delegation was led by, Director-General of AADK, along with senior officials from the Royal Malaysian Customs Department (JKDM), Ministry of Home Affairs (KDN), Royal Malaysian Police (PDRM), Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency (Maritim Malaysia), AADK, Ministry of Transport, Penang Port Commission, Penang Port Sdn. Bhd., and Port Klang Authority.

On the second day, the ASEAN country delegations were taken on a visit to the Penang Port to witness firsthand the activities to prevent the entry of prohibited substances and the enforcement methods practiced to curb drug trafficking through the country's waters.





Also present were the Deputy Director-General (Operations) of AADK, Tuan Khairul Anwar Bachok, and senior officials from the Ministry of Home Affairs, National Anti-Drugs Agency, Royal Malaysian Police, Royal Malaysian Customs, Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency, Penang Port Commission, Penang Port Sdn Bhd, Port Klang Authority, and the Ministry of Transport.